Elektra 2010 Awards – The shortlist

Bumping this one back to the top, with the Elektras fast approaching, on Thursday…An independent panel of judges has made its decisions as part of the Elektra Awards 2010, and the shortlisted finalists in each of the 16 award categories are published below, writes Richard Wilson.

elektra-logo-2010-x-400.jpgBumping this one back to the top, with the Elektras fast approaching, on Thursday…An independent panel of judges has made its decisions as part of the Elektra Awards 2010, and the shortlisted finalists in each of the 16 award categories are published below, writes Richard Wilson.

The winners will be announced at an Elektra Awards Dinner and Christmas Party which takes place on Thursday 9th December at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London.

The established annual highpoint of the electronics industry, the Elektra Awards gives the industry the opportunity to recognise the achievements of individuals and companies across Europe. They are designed to promote best practice in key areas including, innovation, sales growth and employee motivation.

Category Shortlists:

Fabless Semiconductor Supplier of the Year
Silicon Laboratories
XilinxElectronic Manufacturing Services Company of the Year
ACW Technology
TQ-Systems GmbH
Wilson Process Systems

Distributor of the Year
Avnet Abacus
RS Components

Start-up of the Year
Sponsored by International Rectifier
Energy Micro

R&D Award
Baolab Microsystems SL -NanoEMS technology for nanoscale MEMS
Cadence Design Systems – RTL compiler clock gating technology
Enecsys – Micro-inverter without electrolytic capacitors
Microchip Technology- Metal-over-capacitive touch technology

Renewable Energy Design Award
Sponsored by MSC Gleichmann UK
Linear Technology -LTC3109 auto-polarity energy harvesting power supply
Moxa Europe GmbH – Turbo Chain recovery System for Ethernet rings
STMicroelectronics – SPV1020 power converter/optimiser for solar generators
SunSil A/S – SunSil 300 PV system with 300W AC output

Environmental Award
Sponsored by Vicor
Diodes Zetex Semiconductors – Changes in manufacturing strategy
Farnell – Environmentally-friendly packaging alternative
Livingston – Asset recovery programme

Embedded System Product of the Year
Actel – SmartFusion mixed-signal FPGA
Cypress Semiconductor – PSoC 3 and PSoC 5 programmable system-on-chip devices
EnSilica – eSi-RISC configurable microprocessor that scales from 16 to 32 bits
Matrix – Flowcode 4 graphical programming language for microcontrollers
Wittenstein High Integrity – embedded operating system and assurance pack for medical devices

Test Product of the Year
Sponsored by Neesham Public Relations
Agilent Technologies – Infiniium 90000 X-series real-time 32GHz oscilloscope
JTAG Technologies – JTAG Live downloadable boundary scan tools
Lecroy – WaveMaster 830 Zi 30GHz real-time oscilloscope
Pico Technology – PicoScope 6000-series USB scope with a 5GS/s real-time sampling rate
Rohde & Schwarz – RTO oscilloscope family
Tektronix – MSO70000 mixed-signal oscilloscope with iCapture

Solid-State Lighting Application Award
Sponsored by Anglia
Dialight -150W high brightness DuroSite series LED high bay lights
Marl International – Single-chip LEDs halve the energy consumption of marine interior and exterior downlighters
Osram – LED modules light The Crucible Theatre
TT electronics Optek Technology – Flexible LED light strips used in the “Changing Earth” exhibit at the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia

Passive & Electromechanical Product of the Year
AVX – TCJ series 50V rated SMD tantalum polymer capacitor
Harting – Ha-VIS FTS 3100s-A industrial Ethernet switch
ITT Interconnect – Chip-on-flex technology with TVS protection
Kemet – Base metal electrode class-I high temperature capacitor
LEM – ITL900 current transducer, a double-fluxgate, closed-loop transducer
TT electronics Welwyn Components – Thin film alloy for resistors in the range 0R1 to 10R

Semiconductor Product of the Year – Analogue
Sponsored by Mouser Electronics
Analog Devices – AD5791 digital-to-analogue converter for medical designs
Dialog Semiconductor – DA7210, a Class G audio speaker driver
Freescale Semiconductor – MMA9550L Xtrinsic motion sensor
Maxim Integrated Products – MAX17040/1 fuel-gauge ICs
National Semiconductor – ADC12D1800 12-bit 3.6GS/s analogue-to digital converter
Texas Instruments – ADS1298 analogue front end for electrocardiogram (ECG) and electroencephalogram (EEG) systems

Semiconductor Product of the Year – Digital
Altera – Stratix V 28nm FPGA family
ARM – Cortex-M4
Energy Micro – EFM32 Gecko Cortex-M3 based microcontroller
NXP Semiconductor – LPC1102 50MHz Cortex-M0 based microcontroller
STMicroelectronics – M24LR64 EEPROM with wired and wireless interfaces
Xilinx – Virtex-7 28nm FPGA family

Power Systems Product of the Year
Fairchild Semiconductor – FSA9280 USB accessory detection switch
Intersil – ISL8200M scalable power module
Linear Technology – LTM2881 isolated RS485 uModule transceiver
National Semiconductor – Simple Switcher LMZ-series of power module
ON Semiconductor – GreenPoint 216W single-output power supply reference design
Vicor – Picor PI3101 Cool-Power DC-DC converter module

Design Tools and Development Software Award
Cadence Design Systems – Virtuoso Accelerated Parallel simulator
Lattice Semiconductor – Diamond FPGA design environment
Mentor Graphics – Calibre InRoute design and verification platform
MontaVista Software – Rapid deployment program for Android
Synopsys – PrimeTime STA sign-off tool
Tanner EDA & IC Mask Design – HiPer DevGen for analogue layout

And finally, don’t forget to vote in the Reader’s Choice Category – Product Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Avnet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *