Elektra Awards 2012 – Finalists announced

A panel of independent judges has made its decisions as part of the Elektra European Electronics Industry Awards 2012, and the shortlisted finalists in each of the award categories are published below.


The winners will be announced at an Elektra Awards Dinner and Christmas Party which takes place on Wednesday 12th December at the Park Plaza, Westminster Bridge in London.

The established annual highpoint of the electronics industry, the Elektra Awards gives the industry the opportunity to recognise the achievements of individuals and companies across Europe. They are designed to promote best practice in key areas including, innovation, sales growth and employee motivation.

Awards shortlists

Design Team of the Year 
(Sponsored by CadSoft Computer)

ByteSnap Design – Design of vehicle charging posts for London 2012
eosemi – Design of an all-CMOS replacement for crystal oscillators
TT electronics – Design a medical implant for treating high blood pressure

Distributor of the Year 
(Sponsored by IC Resources)

Anglia Components
Caltest Instruments
Farnell element14
Mouser Electronics
RS Components

Green Electronics Award 
(Sponsored by National Instruments)

ebm-papst Mulfingen – CO2 emissions reduction at European facilities
Ericsson Power Modules – Reduction in life-cycle impact of products in operation
Farnell element14 – Packaging recycling project including free customer collection
TT electronics – Sensor product uses 42% less in plastic packaging

Manufacturer Export Award
(Sponsored by Agilent Technologies) 

Marl International
United EMS

New Company of the Year 
(Sponsored by International Rectifier)


Educational Support Award    
(Sponsored by Pinnacle Marketing Communications)

Aeroflex – £2.5m investment in wireless labs at Lancaster University and University College London
Analog Devices – University programme provides “hands-on learning”
Harwin – University programme providing technical, sponsorship and free products
Parallel Systems – Provides free Cadence OrCAD software to UK students
Rohde & Schwarz – €7.5m in financial assistance given to European universities
Silica – A competition prize of £3,000 for three UK university students

Design Tools and development software Award 

ByteSnap Design – SnapUI lightweight development framework
Cadence Design Systems – Encounter analysis system for 3D ICs
CadSoft Computer – CAD tool with ASCII XML data structure
Mentor Graphics – RealTimeCalibre tool provides sign-off DFM feedback
Synopsys – Out-of-the-box support for ARM big.LITTLE processing designs
Xilinx – Vivado FPGA design tool supports C++ to HDL

Embedded System Product of the Year 

Altera – 28nm system-on-chip FPGA
Freescale Semiconductor – Kinetis L series ARM Cortex-M0+ microcontroller
Intersil – Pico-qHD low cost pico projector system
Maxim Integrated Products – Smart meter platform with integrated security
RFEL – Fast Fourier transform FPGA core
Silicon Laboratories – Precision32 crystal-less USB controller

Passive & Electromechanical Product of Year    
(Sponsored by Arrow)

AVX – 75V single-anode tantalum polymer capacitor
Harting – Han-Fast Lock high current PCB connector
Murata – Low ESR, electrical double layer capacitor
Melexis – Triaxis Hall effect magnetic sensor
Omron Electronic Components – G8P relay with large contact gap for high voltages
Syfer Technology – Multilayer chip capacitors with protective coating

Power System Product of the Year  
(Sponsored by Harting Technology Group)

Amantys – Power Drive gate driver module
Cree – High efficiency 50A silicon carbide devices
Linear Technology – µModule isolated DC-DC converter with transformer
N2Power – Small 260W AC-DC power supply
Powervation – PV3101 single phase digital DC/DC controller


Renewable Energy Design Award 
(Sponsored by MSC Gleichmann UK)

Analog Devices – ADP1046 power controller
Diverse Energy – fuel cell technology
Heliatek – Organic photovoltaic material
Zeta Specialist Lighting – Solar powered paddle for lighting road signs

Semiconductor Product of the Year – Analogue
(Sponsored by Mouser Electronics)

ams – AS3935 Franklin lightning sensor IC
Linear Technology – LTC4366 overvoltage protection controller for 9-500V
Integrated Device Technology – IDT 90E46 single phase power metering SoC International Rectifier – PowIRstage integrated buck gate driver, mosfets and Schottky diode
Maxim Integrated Products – MAX44007 digital ambient light sensor
Microsemi – Low power body area network IC

Semiconductor Product of the Year – Digital
(Sponsored by Rohde & Schwarz)

Altera – Combining FPGA with optical transceiver modules in a single package
Freescale – Vybrid microcontroller combines ARM Cortex-A5 and Cortex-M4 cores
Lattice Semiconductor – iCE40 low power mobileFPGAs
LSI – SandForce SSD flash storage processor
Texas Instruments – Wolverine MSP430 microcontroller
Xilinx – Virtex-7 FPGAs with stacked silicon interconnect technology

Solid-State Lighting Application Award 
(Sponsored by Anglia)

Arrow Electronics – LEDagon reference design combines LEDs with thermal management and control
Cree – XSP series high efficiency LED street light
LED Engin – ViviLux family of high-efficiency LED emitters
OMC – Spectralux Light Engines for all-in-one LED lighting design
Oxley Developments – LED aircraft landing light suitable to replace halogen technology
Plessey Semiconductors – Magic series high brightness LEDs on a gallium nitride-on-silicon substr

Test Product of the Year 

Agilent Technologies – Infiniium 90000Q 63GHz oscilloscope
JTAG Technologies – AutoBuzz automated boundary-scan software
LeCroy – LabMaster 10Zi 65GHz oscilloscope
Newton’s 4th – PPA1500 power analyser
National Instruments – PXIe-5644R RF vector signal transceiver, software-designed instrument
Rohde & Schwarz – ZNB network analyser
Yokogawa – Software package for the testing standby power

Other special awards

Rising Star New Engineer of the Year
(Sponsored by Farnell element14)

University Department of the Year  
(Sponsored by RS Components)

New Product – Product Innovation Award
(Sponsored by Avnet Electronics Marketing EMEA)

Company of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *