An Engineer in Wonderland – Engineering Nobel Prize

It is nice to see that the Royal Academy of Engineering has stepped in to fill a hole in the Nobel Prizes with the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering.

 – Much in the way that the Rolf Schock and Crafoord Prizes fill the maths hole, and the Turing Award does for computing.

So I got to thinking who in the past I would like to give a Queen Elizabeth Prize to.

As far as I can make out, it can go to an individual, a team of two, or a team of three.

So here is my quick list: – sorry if I have any facts wrong, it is off the top of my head.

Stirling – heat engine
Trevithick – high-pressure steam engine
Brunel – civil engineering
Faraday – transformer
Marconi – radio transmission
De Forest – triode valve
Tesla – ac power transmission and the induction motor
Konrad Zuse – computer
Barnes Wallis  – the geodesic construction (R100 airship and Wellington bomber)
Tommy Flowers, Turing, Max Newman – Colossus code cracker
Frank Whittle – jet engine

Possible – but both are AFAIK four people
4004 design team
ARM design team

Who unfortunately cannot be included
James Clarke Maxwell – Pure science
Turing for On Computable Numbers – Pure mathematics

Any suggestions?


Should you feel the need, respond to with ‘Engineering Nobel’ in the title.

Please don’t respond below as our spam blocking system doesn’t work and the inbox is overwhelmed by all kinds of generous offers from all kinds of rather annoying people.

No email addresses are collected for marketing (or any other) purposes from responses to this blog. I will keep it that way for as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *