Electronic Communications News

5G mobile network will adapt to needs of society

Technology behind next generation 5G mobile communications will start to take shape over the coming months with a group of companies including Alcatel-Lucent, Nokia Networks, Deutsche Telekom and Orange will work to define the mobile network architecture. The work which beings this month is part of the 5GPPP standards…

Read More

Nordic integrates Bluetooth Smart and NFC Touch-to-Pair

Nordic Semiconductor has put Bluetooth Smart and NFC for Touch-to-Pair on its nRF52832 SoC which has a 64MHz ARM Cortex-M4F processor, a 2.4GHz multi-protocol radio, and automatic power optimisation. According to Nordic Semi, with a 215 CoreMark the nRF52832 delivers up to 60% more generic…

Read More

Socionext enables record data transmission speeds

Socionext, the Panasonic-Fujitsu SoC jv, has launched DACs and ADCs with sampling rates up to 92GSample/s which have been integrated into coherent receivers and transmitters that were used to transport data at several tens of terabits per second over a 762km Lyon-Marseille-Lyon fiber optic link in…

Read More

5G not necessary yet, says mobile industry conference

The mobile industry does not need 5G technology as it has been defined so far, according to delegates at the Future of Wireless International Conference in London. According to Bob Driver, CEO of conference organiser Cambridge Wireless the delegates voted against 5G deployment as it is currently specified. “This reflected…

Read More

Conran director says mobiles need to be less stressful

Speakers from Conran and BT described their vision for smartphone technology at the Future of Wireless International Conference in London this week. “We are going to want products that give us back some control over our appetite for information,” said Tim Rundle, design director at Conran and Partners. “We need…

Read More

White space IoT network goes live in London

The first Weightless-N Smart City network has been deployed in London, as part of the government-backed Digital Catapult centre to promote homegrown tech innovation. The Weightless-N basestations operate in in sub-1GHz, licence-exempt ISM spectrum using ultra narrow band (UNB) technology. The UNB basestations have a…

Read More

Ericsson runs webinar for an "energy re-think" in telecoms

Ericsson is holding the Re-Think Energy Performance webinar on June 17, 2015. Times for the webinar are:  15:00 India (IST), 11:30 Sweden (CEST), 05:30 USA (EDT), 17:30 Singapore (SGT), 12:30 Nairobi (EAT). It will consider technologies and methodologies for addressing the energy needs of…

Read More

Swatch Bluetooth chip covers 4.1, with less power

EM Microelectronic, part of Swatch, has added Bluetooth 4.1coverage to its radio chip and cut power consumption. EM9301 consumes 9µA in Bluetooth Low Energy idle, and <0.5µA when ‘off’, and operates on as little as 0.8V. The chip is designed to work alongside a…

Read More