Home »

Technology professors, by appointment

As part of diamond jubilee celebrations, the Queen has created 12 regius professorships.
Of these, the University of Southampton gets a regius professor of computer science, the University of Surrey gets a regius chair of electronic engineering, and Imperial College London gets one for engineering.
“The award is a reflection of the exceptionally high quality of teaching and research at an institution,” said the Government’s Cabinet Office. “Prior to the diamond jubilee year, they were limited to a handful of the ancient universities of the UK and Ireland – Oxford, Cambridge, St Andrews, Glasgow, Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Trinity College, Dublin. The creation of regius professorships falls under the Royal Prerogative, and each appointment is approved by the monarch on ministerial advice. Before 2009, the most recent Regius Professorship was created by Queen Victoria.”
The other diamond jubilee regius professorships are: University of Dundee (Life Sciences), London School of Economics and Political Science (Economics), The Open University (Open Education), University of Manchester (Physics), Royal Holloway, University of London (Music), University of Essex (Political Science), King’s College London (Psychiatry), University of Reading (Meteorology and climate science), University of Warwick (Mathematics). 
Who was responsible for advising the Queen?
“The deputy prime minister and lord president of the council, Nick Clegg, assisted by the minister for political and constitutional reform, Chloe Smith,” said the Cabinet Office.
Their advice came from a guidance panel of: Sir Graeme Davies (Chair, formerly vice-chancellor of the University of London), Lord Broers (formerly vice-chancellor of the University of Cambridge and president of the Royal Academy of Engineering), Lord Rees (formerly master of Trinity College, Cambridge and president of the Royal Society), and Lord Sutherland (formerly principal of the University of Edinburgh and president of the Royal Society of Edinburgh).
According to the Cabinet Office: “5x more weight was given to the two primary criteria: Excellence of the Institution’s work in the proposed discipline [1-20 points]; recognition the discipline has gained, nationally and internationally, regardless of how long it has been studied [1-20 points]; and other factors, such as the chance to mark a significant event in the history of the institution or discipline [1-4 points].”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *